American Society for Precision Engineering
ASPE Home Page
About ASPE

On May 17 ,2005 the US Department of Homeland Security issued a reminder that, as of June 26, 2005, travelers visiting from 27 "visa waiver" countries will be required to have machine-readable passports in order to enter the United States. These passports must contain a bar code that can be swiped by United States Customs and Border Protection officers "to confirm the passport holder's identity quickly and obtain other information about the holder typically found on a passport's inside cover." Anyone planning on traveling to the U.S. from the 27 visa waiver countries should check with their passport-issuing authority to make sure they have a machine-readable passport. Please be aware that some travelers from some of these nations have valid passports but they have not been renewed and do not include a machine-readable bar code. These travelers will need to acquire a new, machine-readable passport by June 26, 2005 or before their date of travel to the USA. A full list of the visa-waiver countries includes:

  • Andorra
  • Australia
  • Austria
  • Belgium
  • Brunei
  • Denmark
  • Finland
  • France
  • Germany
  • Iceland
  • Ireland
  • Italy
  • Japan
  • Liechtenstein
  • Luxembourg
  • Monaco
  • The Netherlands
  • New Zealand
  • Norway
  • Portugal
  • San Marino
  • Singapore
  • Slovenia
  • Spain
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland
  • United Kingdom

For more detailed information please go to the US Department of State Travel Information web page:

Home | Membership | Publications | Meetings | Calendar | Employment | About ASPE | RSS Feed

American Society for Precision Engineering
P.O. Box 10826, Raleigh, NC 27605-0826 USA, (919) 839-8444, (919) 839-8039 Fax
© 1999-2010 American Society for Precision Engineering. All rights reserved.